Association of Science Museum Directors

Association of Science Museum Directors

About ASMD


The Association of Science Museum Directors (ASMD) is a non-profit, professional association of natural history and science museum directors.

Membership in ASMD is open to the President, CEO or Director of any science museum, science center, science and technology center, zoological park, aquarium, botanical garden or other museum that has significant collections, exhibitions, or educational programs relating to the physical or natural sciences, technology, or anthropology and that devote a significant part of their budget to collections, research or educational programs in the sciences.

The current annual membership fee is $100 for a director from a science museum with an operating budget of less than $1 million, $200 for a director from a museum with an operating budget of more than $1 million and less than $10 million, and $400 for a director from a museum with operating budget of $10 million or more. Retired ASMD members may continue to participate in aspects of ASMD at the invitation of the President.

The Association has an annual meeting (the Directors Forum) in the winter, typically in February and a breakfast meeting in conjunction with the American Alliance of Museums (AAM) Annual Meeting in the spring.  ASMD is an affiliate of AAM and participates in national Museum Advocacy Day in Washington D.C. ASMD is also an affiliate of the Association of Science and Technology Centers (ASTC) and hosts a reception for science museum directors at the ASTC Annual Meeting in the fall.

Interested in becoming a member? Download the membership application here.

Interested in renewing your membership? Download the annual membership dues invoice here.

Current Officers


Joe Keiper, Director

Virginia Museum of Natural History

21 Starling Ave., Martinsville, VA 24112

(276) 634-4151

Vice President

William Harris, President & CEO

Space Center Houston

1601 NASA Parkway

Houston, TX 77058

(281) 244-2120

Vice President

      Denise Young, Executive Director

      North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences

      11 West Jones St. 

      Raleigh, NC 27601


     Elizabeth Pierce, President & CEO

     Cincinnati Museum Center

     1301 Western Avenue

     Cincinnati, OH 45203

     (513) 305-0111

Immediate Past President

    Todd, Boyette, Director

    Morehead Planetarium and Science Center

    Chapel Hill, NC

    (919) 218-1251

Past Officers

Download a listing of ASMD Officers from its inception in 1959 to today here.


Constitution and Bylaws

The Constitution and Bylaws of the Association of Science Museum Directors were originally adopted in May 1960. Revised Bylaws were accepted by a mail ballot vote of the membership in June 1997. Revised versions of the Constitution and Bylaws were approved by an e-mail ballot vote of the membership on January 28, 2020.

Click on the link below for current version of the Constitution and Bylaws.

ASMD Constitution and Bylaws



%d bloggers like this: